Bicol Region


The Bicol Region or Bicolandia is located at the Southeastern stretch of Luzon. and is surrounded by natural barriers in the Bicol Peninsula. It has access to the rest of Luzon through its neighboring province, Quezon.

Provinces in Bicol

Bicolandia has 6 provinces: Albay, Camarines Sur, Camarines Norte, Catanduanes, Masbate and Sorsogon. Six cities composed the region Legazpi, Iriga, Ligao, Masbate, Tabaco and Sorsogon. Naga City is an independent component city.

Legazpi City is considered Bicol Region’s center for politics. Naga City, on the other hand, is the hub for culture and religion.

Dialect & religion

Many Bicolanos are descendants of immigrants from Southern China. They have Chinese, Spanish and Arab blood and they speak with Spanish mixture. Their dialect is Bicol.However, different areas in the Bicol Region speak several other dialects called the Bicolano macrolanguages.

Roman Catholic is strongest in the Bicol Region. For one, Naga City is the home of the Lady of Penafrancia and as such Naga is considered the religious center in the Bicol Region. Festivals are celebrated in every city or town in order of a patron or patroness.

Experience Bicol Festivals on your next trip!

Places to go

Bicol Region is where you can find the famous Mayon Volcano in Daraga, Albay. Other travel destinations include the CamSur Water Complex. Many tourists flock to the beautiful beach destinations, especially in summer for surfing or swimming, and maybe whale watching.

Have a taste of “laing” and the hot Bicol Express! Bicol is the place for chili peppers (siling labuyo) and here you can find a unique dishes including desserts such as ice cream with siling labuyo and what not! Curious? Well, then come to Bicol on your next Philippine travel.